Aerial view of the Dowagiac campus

Toy designer speaking at SMC Thursday

11/13/2018 - 9am
David Vonner

Toy designer David Vonner speaks on “Solving Problems with Creativity and Your Inner Child” at Southwestern Michigan College at 2 p.m. Thursday in the theatre of the Dale A. Lyons Building on the Dowagiac campus.

As design manager for Mattel since December 2016, Vonner oversees development of World Wrestling Entertainment (WWE) action figures and frequently contributes to the Netflix series “The Toys That Made Us.”

From 2006-12, Vonner designed for Hasbro, which produced many successful Marvel products.

Though based in Los Angeles, he is a native of Pleasantville, N.J., and studied at The Art Institute of Philadelphia.

Vonner is presented as part of SMC’s Academic Speaker Series in conjunction with Student Support Services (SSS) for the TRiO program’s 50th anniversary. His talk is free and open to the community.

He will be accompanied to SMC by his wife, Makeba Collins. They will be guests of honor at a private networking event for TRiO SSS students after his public appearance.